workers comp rates by state 2021

2021 Workers’ Comp Rates by State

2021 Workers’ compensation insurance rates will vary depending on a number of different factors, including your company’s payroll, employee job classifications, and claims history. However, a major factor involved with calculating workers’ comp rates is what state you operate your business in. Below, we’ve put together a list of average 2021 workers’ compensation rates by state.

2021 Workers’ Comp Rates by State

Here are the average workers’ comp rates by state per every $100 in payroll:

 

State Lowest Rate (Clerical) Highest Rate (Labor)
Alabama $0.15 $22.80
Alaska $0.41 $15.85
Arizona $0.20 $20.61
Arkansas $0.13 $10.96
California $0.40 $33.57
Colorado $0.13 $13.53
Connecticut $0.14 $16.75
Delaware $0.22 $14.71
Florida $0.26 $19.40
Georgia $0.12 $38.83
Hawaii $0.21 $10.54
Idaho $0.28 $18.04
Illinois $0.11 $37.24
Indiana $0.11 $7.69
Iowa $0.30 $16.45
Kansas $0.11 $12.49
Kentucky $0.10 $18.15
Louisiana $0.17 $15.93
Maine $0.25 $14.00
Maryland $0.24 $13.89
Massachusetts $0.07 $9.77
Michigan $0.16 $11.04
Minnesota $0.10 $20.49
Mississippi $0.20 $21.96
Missouri $0.15 $19.64
Montana $0.37 $22.84
Nebraska $0.13 $7.40
Nevada $0.21 $11.55
New Hampshire $0.16 $15.87
New Jersey $0.27 $19.72
New Mexico $0.24 $27.61
New York $0.07 $29.93
North Carolina $0.10 $34.06
North Dakota N/A N/A
Ohio N/A N/A
Oklahoma $0.20 $19.49
Oregon $0.10 $24.48
Pennsylvania $0.12 $26.39
Rhode Island $0.15 $13.57
South Carolina $0.18 $36.19
South Dakota $0.16 $23.29
Tennessee $0.11 $21.47
Texas $0.07 $13.29
Utah $0.90 $20.66
Vermont $0.21 $13.37
Virginia $0.08 $14.03
Washington N/A N/A
West Virginia $0.12 $5.47
Wisconsin $0.24 $20.40
Wyoming N/A N/A

 

Is Workers’ Comp Insurance Required in My State?

Each state has its own requirements and regulations surrounding workers’ compensation insurance. Nearly all of them require it, but the laws vary depending on your number of employees. To find out if it’s mandatory in your state, check out our article Is Workers’ Comp Required in My State?
 

If I Don’t Have Employees, Do I Need Workers’ Comp?

Even if you don’t have any people on staff, you may be surprised to learn that workers’ comp coverage is still a good idea (or required, in some cases). You should purchase a policy (or consider it) if you fall into one of these categories:

  • You’re a solo business owner who could be injured on the job, so you want coverage for yourself.
  • You hire independent contractors or subcontractors, even part time. Check your state’s laws for requirements.
  • You’re an independent contractor being asked to provide proof of workers’ comp coverage in order to be hired. In your case, check out a workers’ comp ghost policy.
  •  

    Get Workers’ Compensation Insurance in Your State

    Whether you’re shopping for workers’ compensation insurance for the first time or you’re interested in switching carriers, Cerity is here to make your experience a pleasant one. In just minutes, you can be on your way to a competitive and affordable workers’ comp insurance quote.

    We currently provide workers’ comp insurance to business owners in 46 states, including:

  • Alabama workers’ comp
  • Alaska workers’ comp
  • Arizona workers’ comp
  • Arkansas workers’ comp
  • California workers’ comp
  • Colorado workers’ comp
  • Connecticut workers’ comp
  • Delaware workers’ comp
  • Florida workers’ comp
  • Georgia workers’ comp
  • Hawaii workers’ comp
  • Idaho workers’ comp
  • Illinois workers’ comp
  • Indiana workers’ comp
  • Iowa workers’ comp
  • Kansas workers’ comp
  • Kentucky workers’ comp
  • Lousiana workers’ comp
  • Maine workers’ comp
  • Maryland workers’ comp
  • Massachusetts workers’ comp
  • Michigan workers’ comp
  • Minnesota workers’ comp
  • Mississippi workers’ comp
  • Montana workers’ comp
  • Nebraska workers’ comp
  • Nevada workers’ comp
  • New Hampshire workers’ comp
  • New Jersey workers’ comp
  • New Mexico workers’ comp
  • New York workers’ comp
  • North Carolina workers’ comp
  • Oklahoma workers’ comp
  • Oregon workers’ comp
  • Pennsylvania workers’ comp
  • Rhode Island workers’ comp
  • South Carolina workers’ comp
  • South Dakota workers’ comp
  • Tennessee workers’ comp
  • Texas workers’ comp
  • Utah workers’ comp
  • Vermont workers’ comp
  • Virginia workers’ comp
  • Washington D.C. workers’ comp
  • West Virginia workers’ comp
  • Wisconsin workers’ comp

  • If you’re ready to discover your specific workers’ comp rates, get your free quote online now.

    Instant Workers’ Comp Quote

    We know you’re busy. So we’ll get right to the point.

    Learning Center Resources


    • Top Workers’ Comp Questions
    • Small Business Resources
    • Workplace Safety Tips