Workers’ Compensation Insurance in New Hampshire
How Is Workers’ Compensation Insurance Defined in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, workers’ compensation is a form of necessary business insurance that provides benefits such as payment for medical bills and 60% of lost wages to employees who get injured or sick while on the job.
The workers’ comp system in New Hampshire is a “no fault” system, meaning that it doesn’t matter who is at fault for the incident that caused the injury or illness — benefits will be offered as long as the injury/illness was not due to intentional acts. In addition to protecting the employee, workers’ comp usually provides support for business owners if the employee decides to file a lawsuit in relation to their injury or illness.
What Are the Laws That Govern Workers’ Compensation Insurance in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire state law requires all employers to provide workers’ compensation insurance to all employees, including full-time employees, part-time employees, and employees who are family members. This includes nonprofit organizations. The state puts the primary responsibility for obtaining workers’ compensation insurance coverage on employers before hiring any employee.
Those not required by law to have workers’ comp coverage in New Hampshire include sole proprietors, partners, corporations or LLCs with three or fewer executive officers or LLC members and no other employees, and self-employed workers. However, those types of workers may choose to get coverage to help protect themselves in the event of a workplace injury or illness. Some sole proprietors or partners may be required to have workers’ comp coverage if they’re acting as sub-contractors and their general contractor requires it for employment.
Businesses in New Hampshire also have the option to self-insure in lieu of a workers’ comp policy from a private insurer. However, most business owners opt not to do this, as self-insurance requires enough capital to pay any and all claims out of pocket, without any insurance coverage. Workers’ comp is typically more economical.
What Does Workers’ Compensation Insurance Cover in New Hampshire?
Workers’ compensation provides the following benefits to employees who suffer job-related injuries or illnesses.
- Weekly indemnity benefits
- Temporary partial disability benefits
- Death benefits
- Payment of related medical bills, including mileage to doctors’ visits and prescription reimbursement
- Permanent impairment award
- Temporary alternative duty
- Reinstatement of employee sustaining compensable injuries
- Cost of living adjustment
- Vocational rehabilitation
In New Hampshire, these benefits are available to all employees who are covered by a workers’ comp policy, report their injuries to their employers, and file their claim according to the laws outlined by the state.
What Are the Penalties in New Hampshire for Not Having Workers’ Comp Insurance Coverage?
The laws regarding workers’ comp in New Hampshire are serious. You could face penalties such as fines up to $2,500 in addition to $100 per employee for each day you’re found to be without coverage. In addition to fines, the state can also order you to stop operations of your business as long as you remain noncompliant.
Learn more about workers’ comp coverage requirements in other states here.
What Types of Injuries Are Covered by New Hampshire Workers’ Comp?
The New Hampshire state workers’ compensation law outlines what types of injuries are usually covered by workers’ compensation insurance in the state. Generally speaking, the following guidelines can help business owners determine what typically qualifies for a workers’ comp claim.
The types of injuries typically covered by workers’ comp are:
- Injuries that are not the result of intentional self-harm or harm that results from drug use, alcohol use, or fighting
- Injuries that fall within the general “course and scope” of the worker’s employment, such as long-term occupational injuries, including back strain from repetitive motion
For more information about the workers’ comp claim process, visit our learning center.
What Are Workers’ Comp Death Benefits in New Hampshire?
In the event that a worker passes away as a result of their workplace injury or illness, workers’ comp in New Hampshire provides death benefits to dependents. These benefits include burial expenses up to $10,000 as well as weekly compensation paid out to dependents. Dependents include:
- Surviving spouses who have not remarried
- Surviving children under 18
- Surviving children between the ages of 18 and 25 who are full-time students
- Surviving children of any age who are physically/mentally incapacitated
- Any dependent who is financially dependent on the deceased worker at the time of their death
How Do Workers’ Comp Settlements Work in New Hampshire?
As in other states, workers’ comp settlements are mutually beneficial agreements between the injured/ill employee, the employer, and their insurer that close claims completely. Settlements generally result in an agreed-upon amount being paid to the employee via either structured installments or a lump sum. In exchange, the employee agrees to seek no additional benefits, claims, or lawsuits in relation to the claim in the future.
What Are the Statutes of Limitations Regarding Workers’ Comp in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, injured or ill workers have two years from the date of their injury to give their employers notice in order to make a claim for benefits. In the event that an illness develops gradually over time and isn’t immediately recognized, the employee must inform their employer the date the illness is diagnosed.
Whether the claim is related to an injury or an illness, workers have to file a claim within three years of the date of their injury or the diagnosis of their work-related illness.
How Much Does Workers’ Compensation Insurance Cost in New Hampshire?
Just as in other states, the cost of workers’ comp premiums vary based on a variety of circumstances. Private insurers are allowed to set their own rates, and premiums are determined by several factors unique to each business. Comparing quotes from multiple companies is the best way to get an idea of what rate you can expect to pay for your business.
Those looking for coverage should remember that every business’s premiums will be different. Low-risk jobs like office work and high-risk jobs like transportation will be categorized differently and, as a result, premiums will be different.
Many factors unique to your business will be utilized to determine your exact insurance premiums.
Some of these factors include:
- The location of your business
- The size of your business and the number of employees
- The industry in which your business operates
Looking to help lower your premiums? Prioritize risk mitigation techniques. Insurance providers evaluate how seriously businesses take workplace safety when calculating rates. This means that taking steps like enacting employee training sessions and creating safety protocols could possibly help lower your insurance premiums.
How Do I Get Workers’ Comp for My New Hampshire Business?
Business owners looking to get workers’ comp coverage in New Hampshire can do so through any private insurance company, agent, or broker that is licensed to operate in the state. Luckily, it’s easy to get workers’ comp coverage in New Hampshire with the right provider.
Cerity offers a faster, more affordable approach to workers’ comp. We aim to help New Hampshire business owners like you get a quote easily — without phone calls or paperwork. With proprietary tools and modern technology, we can provide quick quotes and instant policies.
Where Can I Get Workers’ Compensation For My New Hampshire Business?
We offer workers’ compensation to businesses no matter where you are in New Hampshire. If you are located in the Great North Woods, Merrimack Valley, or Monadnock, we’ll help you protect your New Hampshire employees.
If you need workers’ comp coverage for your New Hampshire business, you can purchase a policy through any private insurance company, agent, or broker that is licensed to operate in the state. So even if you aren’t in any of the following cities, know that we can still help you:
To get workers’ compensation insurance, check out our free online quote tool and start protecting your New Hampshire business today.
Get protection for your business baby.
It only takes a few minutes, whether you’re already covered or just getting started.