Workers’ Comp Deadlines by State

  • Published Mar 15, 2021

How long does an employee have to report an injury on the job? The short answer is that it depends on the state where the business is located. Every state has a different set of guidelines for when an employee needs to report a work-related injury or illness to their employer, as well as for how long they have to file a workers’ compensation claim.

Workers’ Comp Deadlines by State

This state-by-state guide is a quick reference for workers’ compensation deadlines after an injury from an accident or onset of an occupational disease. For the most accurate, up-to-date information, you should contact your state workers’ comp officials.

State Deadline to report work-related injury/illness to employer Deadline to make workers’ compensation claim
Alabama 5 days 2 years
Alaska 30 days 2 years
Arizona as early as possible 1 year
Arkansas as early as possible 2 years
California 30 days 1 year
Colorado 4 days 2 years
Connecticut as early as possible 1 year after injury/3 years after first symptom of occupational disease
Delaware as early as possible 2 years after injury/1 year after first diagnosis of occupational disease
Florida 30 days 2 years
Georgia 30 days 1 year
Hawaii as early as possible 5 years after injury/2 years after first symptom of occupational disease
Idaho 60 days no limitation
Illinois 45 days 3 years
Indiana 30 days 2 years
Iowa 90 days 2 years
Kansas 20 days 3 years
Kentucky as early as possible 2 years
Louisiana 30 days 1 year
Maine 60 days 2 years
Maryland 10 days 60 days after injury/2 years after disablement or death
Massachusetts as early as possible 4 years
Michigan 90 days 2 years
Minnesota 180 days 3 years after employer’s report to the Department of Labor and Industry, not to exceed 6 years after injury
Mississippi 30 days 2 years
Missouri 30 days 2 years, 3 years if employer does not file a timely report of injury with the Division of Workers’ Compensation
Montana 30 days 12 months
Nebraska as early as possible 2 years
Nevada 7 days 90 days after injury/1 year after death
New Hampshire 2 years 3 years
New Jersey 90 days 2 years
New Mexico 15 days 1 year
New York 30 days 2 years
North Carolina 30 days 2 years
North Dakota 7 years 1 year after injury/2 years after death
Ohio as early as possible 1 year after injury/2 years after occupational disease
Oklahoma 30 days 2 years
Oregon 90 days 2 years/1 year after occupational disease
Pennsylvania 120 days 3 weeks after injury/300 weeks after exposure to occupational disease
Rhode Island 30 days 2 years
South Carolina 3 days 2 years
South Dakota 3 days 2 years
Tennessee 15 days 1 year
Texas 30 days 1 year
Utah 180 days 6 years
Vermont as early as possible 3 years
Virginia 30 days 2 years
Washington as early as possible 1 year after injury/2 years after diagnosis of occupational disease
West Virginia as early as possible 6 months after injury/3 years after diagnosis of or last exposure to occupational disease
Wisconsin 30 days 2 years after injury/6 years after traumatic injury/12 years after occupational disease
Wyoming 72 hours to report to employer 1 year after injury/1 year after diagnosis of or 3 years after last exposure to occupational disease, whichever is later


Get Workers’ Comp Coverage for Your State

Every state has its own set of laws and rules, so it can be difficult to find workers’ compensation insurance that matches your company’s unique needs. That’s why Cerity created workers’ comp insurance options that make it easy to protect your business.

We currently offer workers’ compensation insurance coverage for businesses in 42 states:

If you’re ready to discover your specific workers’ comp rates, get your free quote online now.

dots shape complete protection

Grab your free quote today.

It only takes a few minutes, whether you’re already covered or just getting started.


The information provided is intended to provide a general overview. This information is not legal advice and should not be relied on as such. Cerity® makes no warranties for the accuracy, adequacy, or completeness of the information provided, and will not be responsible for any actions taken based on the information contained herein. If you have legal questions or need legal advice, please consult an attorney.